19 Dec Ripe Guest Mix with Tomsk – Ciggie Saturday Special

It’s summer time in Australia, which means we have a series of guest mixes on the way for the holiday season. First off, we have this special little mix from Melbourne-based Tomsk, who has kindly made us a mix ahead of the Christmas Eve Ciggie Saturday event at The Gasometer Hotel in Collingwood. We will let the man himself give us a rundown of what’s inside the mix.

“This mix kicks off with an unreleased track from myself — setting the tone with a jungle-like ’90s warp records inspired jam I made after dropping out of Uni halfway through this year. The bass line and melodies were made in one take, but the percussion was meticulously edited over a couple of weeks. ‘Time Rippa‘ is a track I put up earlier this year, [and] it’s definitely a trip! My brother described it perfectly – it’s like Aphex Twin mixed with The Chemical Brothers – two of my main inspirations!

I have included three other tracks from Melbourne mates — one from the rising live techno and electro outfit Glome. This one is a scorcher! Pounding broken beat kick resembling that of a industrial robotic arm chugs through, while the track is climaxing in a fierce electro locked groove. Next is another unreleased track, this one from the mysterious Runsthevoodoodown, who has been a regular selector at Ciggie Sundays this year. ‘Skyline‘ is an incredible warping break-beat extravaganza! We are both getting inspiration from similar sources at the moment, I know for a fact he has a whole lot of unreleased fire in his arsenal so keep an eye on him for sure.

The last track of the mix is from Escape Artist, who is one half of Continent. They will be debuting their live set on Christmas Eve for us. I was immediately taken back by this one, ‘Drum and Space’. It’s a kind of deconstructed jungle track with sparse interwoven rhythms and a cascading wash of arpeggios to cap it off.”

Tomsk – ‘Drop Out Jam’ (Unreleased)
Dave Monolith – ‘Ages Sound’
AGTomsk – ‘Time Rippa’
Glome – ‘Stryker Hydraulic Fracturing Tension Arc’
Clark – ‘Unfurla’
Rolando Simmons – ‘Sol’
AFX – ‘Pitcard’
Runsthevoodoodown – ‘Skyline’ (Unreleased)
Cosiin – ‘Shinra’
Plant 43 – ‘Will I Dream’
The Art Of Trance – ‘Gloria’ (Transparent Mix)
µ-Ziq – ‘Brace Yourself Jason’
Autechre – ‘Flutter’
Escape Artist – ‘Drum and Space’


Marcus Rimondini

Managing Editor & Music Editor - Follow on Twitter